Peter V. Brett

Peter V. Brett is the New York Times bestselling author of the Demon Cycle series, which has sold more than three and a half million copies in 25 languages worldwide. Novels include The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, The Daylight War, The Skull Throne, and The Core.

In addition to his novels, Peter has written a series of novellas set in the Demon Cycle world, including The Great Bazaar, Brayan’s Gold, Messenger’s Legacy and the newly released Barren. He also wrote the Red Sonja: Unchained graphic novel for Dynamite Comics.

He lives in Brooklyn.

Find Peat on his website or follow him on Twitter @PVBrett.

Bibliography

  • FORTH
     
    The Desert Prince (#1)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Warded Man (#1)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    Brayan’s Gold (Demon Cycle #0.5)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Great Bazaar and Other Stories (#1.5)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Desert Spear (#2)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Daylight War (#3)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    Messenger’s Legacy (#3.5)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Skull Throne (#4)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    The Core (#5)
    Peter V. Brett
  • The Demon Cycle
    Barren (#5.5)
    Peter V. Brett
     

Reviews

 

The Desert Prince (#1)

There are no reviews yet for this title.

The Demon Cycle

The Warded Man (#1)
“Brett ably blends fantasy and horror in this arresting first novel, the first in a planned series. An imaginative and exciting tale, recommended where there is interest in epic fantasy.”

Library Journal, Starred Review

“Brett’s fantasy debut is a highly readable adventure with a unique setting and three strong protagonists. Brett includes plenty of exciting battles, terrifying monsters, and heart-wrenching moments to make the focus of the story — the development of flawed, ordinary children into legends — believable. Consider the series this begins worth tracking.”

Booklist

“Brett’s debut builds slowly and grimly on a classic high-fantasy framework of black-and-white mortality and bloodshed. Brett’s gritty tale will appeal to those who tire of sympathetic villains and long for old-school orc massacres.”

Publishers Weekly

“A gripping adventure — a very promising start to a new series, and an excellent first novel.”

Locus

“An absolute masterpiece… for me, the novel was literally 'unputdownable,' and certainly deserves to be the next Big Thing in dark fantasy.”

Horrorscope (Australia)

“I enjoyed THE WARDED MAN immensely. There is much to admire in Peter Brett’s writing, and his concept is brilliant. Action and suspense all the way; he made me care about his characters and want to know what’s going to happen next.”

Terry Brooks, the New York Times bestselling author of the Shannara Chronicles

“Peter Brett’s tremendously readable first novel, THE WARDED MAN, is set in a harsh and feudal world in which demons rule the night. No one is free until a hero rises who is willing to defy the demons, but at a terrible price. THE WARDED MAN works not only as a great adventure novel, but a reflection on the nature of heroism.”

Charlaine Harris, the New York Times bestselling author of ALL TOGETHER DEAD

Brayan’s Gold (Demon Cycle #0.5)
Brett spins another side story (after The Great Bazaar and Other Stories) off the deliberately harsh fantasy world first developed in 2009's The Warded Man. This novella is a slight but enjoyable tale with a light, almost YA feel. Newcomers will get an easy introduction as Arlen, still an apprentice Messenger, takes on his first solo excursion into the demon-haunted night. When Sandar breaks his leg, Curk, Arlan's mentor, is assigned to take his place hauling explosives to a far-off mining town. Brigands attack and Curk flees, but the ever-brave Arlan stands his ground, making himself new enemies and allies in what will become his long fight against the demons.

Publishers Weekly

“A fun adventure.”

Locus

“BRAYAN’S GOLD is highly enjoyable episode in Brett’s greater tale that will enjoyed by his existing fans and could serve to draw in new readers… Strong recommendation.”

SFFWorld

The Great Bazaar and Other Stories (#1.5)
“Should delight all fans of epic fantasy. Brett’s prose is nimble and accessible and he leaves the reader wanting to know more.”

Sacramento Book Reviews

"Technically a short story collection, this slender volume is better understood as the DVD extras to Brett's 2009 debut novel, THE WARDED MAN. The universe's conceit—demon corelings rise from the land each night, keeping the populace trapped indoors—is explained in the title story, a fully realized tale..."

Publishers Weekly

The Desert Spear (#2)
“A gripping sequel […] emphasizes political and romantic intrigue without losing the urgency of the demon war.”

Booklist

“Extends the author’s panoramic vision […] Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”

Library Journal

“Sure to leave fans on tenterhooks waiting for the next installment.”

Publishers Weekly

“An earthy, entertaining and traditional epic fantasy.”

Sacramento Book Review

"Well-drawn characters, fascinating world-building, action and conflict make for an exciting page-turner.”

RT Book Reviews

“Peter V. Brett is one of my favorite new authors.”

Patrick Rothfuss, the New York Times bestselling author of THE NAME OF THE WIND

“If you liked the first book as much as I did, you’ll consider this one essential reading.”

Charlaine Harris, The New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse mysteries

The Daylight War (#3)
“…this volume will leaves series fans impatient for more.”

Booklist

“Along with Brandon Sanderson and Daniel Abraham, Peter V. Brett is at the forefront of purveyors of epic fantasy whose teeth were ground on the likes of Robert Jordan, George R.R. Martin, Terry Brooks, and David Eddings […] in other words, with THE DAYLIGHT WAR, he’s at the top of his game. I give this my highest recommendation (including the first two novels in the series.)”

Tor.com

“That his world is not the standard castles and knights backdrop is a breath of fresh air, and the Middle-Eastern-influenced cultures and locales of the world about which he writes are captivating, alluring, deadly, and full of intrigue.

Bookreporter

Messenger’s Legacy (#3.5)
“Anyone who’s already a fan of the Demon Cycle is sure to enjoy MESSENGER’S LEGACY. Brett has created a fascinating demon-infested world […] I enjoyed spending time with these characters and look forward to seeing more of them.”

Fantasy Literature

“The scenes at night, as Briar or Regan (or both) dealt with the corelings are superb — the author is always advancing the readers’ understanding of how these demons function in the world […] A great short story, and also a great lead-in to the fourth novel in the series, THE SKULL THRONE. [...] This series has my highest recommendation. A must-read.”

Civilian Reader

The Skull Throne (#4)
“Peter V. Brett expands and deepens his endlessly fascinating and increasingly complex world.”

Buzzfeed

“Brett knows exactly what he’s doing […] The book is very steadily paced – this a slow burn and much of it focuses on the interpersonal relationships between various characters [though] there are plenty of action-packed key scenes peppered throughout the book. The demons are mostly added as a spice here; Brett is setting up his world and the characters in order to tell his epic fantasy tale in a way that is both personal and global. It’s a page-turner, and quite possibly the best so far.”

Starburst Magazine

“Heart thumping, adrenalin pumping [...] the crescendo is near perfect!"

Book Frivolity

The Core (#5)
“Brett delivered a conclusion that [...] felt earned for each of the main characters. A war concluded, a peace delivered, and a saga ended…for now.”

SFFWorld

“Thoroughly addicting [...] a thrilling adventure that is, without question, [Brett’s] greatest achievement yet.

Bookreporter

“Only very rarely does a long epic fantasy series conclude satisfactorily. With THE CORE, Peter V. Brett manages to hit all the right notes."

The Ranting Dragon

Barren (#5.5)
“Readers will be drawn into the hearts and minds of his characters and deeply moved by the themes of acceptance and community.”

Publishers Weekly

“If you’re a fan of Peter V. Brett and The Demon Cycle, then you’re definitely going to enjoy this novella set in the same world.”

New York Library Journal

“Complex, rich, and moving.”

Fantasy Literature

Awards & Accolades

 

The Demon Cycle

The Warded Man (#1)
United Kingdom

#43 UK Bookscan hardcover fiction list

United Kingdom

#13 UK Bookscan fantasy list

United Kingdom

#2 UK Bookscan hardcover fantasy list

Taiwan

#4 Eslite Foreign Literature chart

India

#1 Yentha’s Best Books of the week

United Kingdom

Amazon UK: “Best of 2008”

USA

ALA: “Top Five Fantasy of 2009”

The Desert Spear (#2)
USA

#35 New York Times Bestseller

United Kingdom

#9 Sunday Times Bestseller

Germany

#35 Der Spiegel Bestseller

Taiwan

#3 Eslite Foreign Literature chart

USA

David Gemmell Legend Award Nominee

USA

Best of 2010 by Fantasy Faction, SFF World, Ranting Dragon, Fantasy Book Critic, Goodreads.com

The Daylight War (#3)
USA

#19 New York Times Bestseller

USA

#50 USA Today Bestseller

United Kingdom

#3 Sunday Times Bestseller

Germany

#5 Der Spiegel Bestseller

USA

iBook: “Best of 2013 Pick”

USA

2013 Goodreads Choice Awards Semifinalist: “Best Fantasy Novel”

USA

2013 David Gemmell Legend Award Finalist

The Skull Throne (#4)
USA

#13 New York Times Bestseller

USA

#5 Sunday Times Bestseller

USA

#4 Der Spiegel Bestseller

Poland

Polish "Book of the Year" 2015 Finalist

USA

Buzzfeed: “32 Best Fantasy Books of 2015”

The Core (#5)
Germany

#2 Literatur Spiegel Bestseller

Germany

#1 Börsenblatt Bestseller List

Barren (#5.5)
Germany

#44 Der Spiegel Bestseller