Marjorie B. Kellogg

Scenic designer and writer Marjorie Bradley Kellogg is an Associate Professor of Theater at Colgate University. She lives in Franklin NY.

Most recently, she designed Passions for the Glimmerglass Festival in Cooperstown NY, and Othello at the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis MN.  In May 2014, she received the Robert L. B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design.

Find Marjorie on her website.

Bibliography

  • Standalone
    Lear’s Daughters
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • Standalone
    Harmony
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • Standalone
    A Rumor of Angels
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • The Dragon Quartet
    The Book of Earth (#1)
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • The Dragon Quartet
    The Book of Water (#2)
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • The Dragon Quartet
    The Book of Fire (#3)
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
  • The Dragon Quartet
    The Book of Air (#4)
    Marjorie B. Kellogg
     

Reviews

Standalone

Lear’s Daughters
"A powerful and complex cautionary tale as timely as it is entertaining. Grand-scale storytelling with personal immediacy, a good choice for most sf collections."

Library Journal

"This is a wonderful planet, and the alien Sawl culture is interesting and contains hidden depths [...] The science fiction mystery has fascinating answers, but it’s the human conflict that drives the book and lifts it out of the ordinary."

TOR.com

"If you're looking for science fiction that is truly able to transport you to another world and show you how very everyday characters react to that world, LEAR'S DAUGHTERS is absolutely a must read."

Fantasy Book Review

“I loved Kellogg’s LEAR'S DAUGHTERS duology […] Kellogg does a marvelous job of creating complex individuals, male and female, within complex societies.”

Feminist Bookstore News

“A spellbinding duet of novels. I couldn’t put these books down.”

Susan Dworkin, author of Desperately Seeking Susan

“It was simply not possible to go on with my life until I knew what happened to Susannah and Stavros […] her evocation of a loving people living on a planet at war with itself was totally absorbing. I loved the heroes, I hated the villains, and the right man got the right woman when it was all over. What else is there to want?”

Marsha Norman, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Night Mother

Harmony
“With gathering momentum, HARMONY achieves real power, the lived-in quality of an historic moment as seen by its participants. Profound questions about art, survival and responsibility are enlivened by the high spirits of the young Apprentices, and the equivocally magic doings of the Eye. Experience that future with Gwinn — she lives in interesting times.”

Locus

A Rumor of Angels
“Every once in a while a book by a new writer appears that demonstrates the maturity and skill of an experienced pro. This is one of them. Kellogg’s first novel opens brilliantly and […] it is throughout better than average and quite satisfying […] The story of the salvation of Arkoi is for the most part terrific.”

Publishers Weekly

“A thought-provoking sf tale.”

Kliatt

The Dragon Quartet

The Book of Earth (#1)
“Dragon fans are really going to love THE BOOK OF EARTH […] The dragon is absolutely irresistible. When he’s on stage, sparks of excitement leap through the pages. By the end of the book and the dramatic introduction of Water, you will indeed find it hard to wait for the next tale.”

RT Book Reviews

“Entertaining […] Kellogg’s characters make a delightful quartet […] neatly balances Erdes’s fish-out-of-time experiences with N’dock, a modern man who encounters real magic for the first time with a sense of awe.”

Starlog

“From first page to last this is an excellent book. This book has magic, love, humor, action and dragons: something for everyone! This should appeal to all fantasy readers, young and old. I eagerly look forward to the other books in the series.”

Kliatt

“An enchanting fantasy, filled with adventure, villains, romance, and hope, not to mention a heroine with some spunk […] The travels create a magical tapestry of intrigue and daring. The characters are delightfully evil and inspiringly good, a true fairy tale. Throw in romance, danger, enchanting valleys and desolate mountains, heart stopping confrontations and blissful pastoral quiet. It is a book of contrasts which weaves a spell over the reader. A must for all those dragon lovers of other writers like Wrede and McCaffrey. I can’t wait for the next.”

VOYA

The Book of Water (#2)
“A fun romp with some creatively surreal moments.”

Locus

“A second book as entertaining as her first [...] Kellogg’s characters make a delightful quartet.”

Starlog

The Book of Fire (#3)
“A sense of immediacy and timeliness that’s unusually effective […] an entertaining and pleasantly unusual sf/fantasy mix.”

Locus

The Book of Air (#4)
“Will appeal to fans of Anne McCaffrey and Patricia Wrede […] an original take on dragon lore, this book’s appealing writing and sympathetic characters will please dragon fans. This final entry wraps up the series in a satisfying manner.”

RT Book Reviews

“A powerful work of sword and sorcery. All loose ends are tied up and all questions are finally answered so readers are left totally satisfied and gratified with this magnificent tale and the entire four-book saga.”

Midwest Book Review

“Wonderful characterization […] even the minor players in this grand drama have a real force and personality that comes shining through the pages. THE BOOK OF AIR represents the end of an ambitious series, and I think Kellogg pulled it off quite well — even managing to throw in a pretty big twist I was not expecting at the end.”

Rambles

“An exciting fantasy tetralogy with all the right ingredients.”

SFRevu

Awards & Accolades

Standalone

Lear’s Daughters
USA

SF Book Club, BOMC2, and Scientific American Book Club selections

The Dragon Quartet