Jon Sprunk

Jon Sprunk is the author of BLOOD AND IRON, the first book in the Book of the Black Earth fantasy series. He also wrote the Shadow Saga (Shadow’s Son, Shadow’s Lure, and Shadow’s Master.) Shadow’s Son was a finalist for the Compton Crook Award and also a nominee for the David Gemmell Award in two categories.

Jon lives in central Pennsylvania with his wife and son. When not writing, he enjoys travel, collecting medieval and ancient weaponry, and pro football.

Find Jon on his website, or follow him on Twitter @JonSprunk.

Bibliography

  • The Book of the Black Earth Series
    Blood and Iron (#1)
    Jon Sprunk
  • The Book of the Black Earth Series
    Storm and Steel (#2)
    Jon Sprunk
  • The Book of the Black Earth Series
    Blade and Bone (#3)
    Jon Sprunk
  • The Book of the Black Earth Series
    Sun and Serpent (#4)
    Jon Sprunk
  • Shadow Saga
    Shadow’s Son (#1)
    Jon Sprunk
  • Shadow Saga
    Shadow’s Lure (#2)
    Jon Sprunk
  • Shadow Saga
    Shadow’s Master (#3)
    Jon Sprunk
  • Shadow Saga
    The Complete Shadow Saga
    Jon Sprunk
     

Reviews

The Book of the Black Earth Series

Blood and Iron (#1)
“Sheer fun, with engaging, pulse-quickening action, sympathetic characters and intricate intrigue […] definitely a series to follow.”

Kirkus

“Sprunk’s world is fascinating and original, reminiscent of ancient Sumeria and Babylon.”

Publishers Weekly

“An interesting magic system, complicated political scene, and loads of action make this Spartacus-with-magic a fun first volume in a new epic fantasy series.”

Library Journal

“Full of treachery, rebellion and a pinch of sexual tension, Sprunk has written a work which is one part Shogun and four parts amazing.”

Buzzfeed

“BLOOD AND IRON is an engrossing novel of swords and sorcery. It’s tightly focused and complete, without a sprawling cast and endless appendix of subplots. That’s not to say Jon Sprunk tells a simple tale, he’s just managed to avoid the sinkhole of over-telling that sucks so much epic fantasy into the abyss.”

SFcrowsnest

“BLOOD AND IRON is the perfect fantasy beach book. The setting goes great with water and sand. It’s entertaining, and fast-paced with great characters and fascinating magical system. It is well suited for a reader who wants to have a quick, enjoyable read.”

The Qwillery

“What I truly enjoyed about this book was how incredibly detailed Sprunk was with his world building […] Sprunk adds in a complex culture and isn’t afraid to show it’s good and bad points, religious strife, political issues, characters and throws it all into a vivid landscape that seems so absolutely real I can almost see, feel, and smell it all […] He’s started one hell of an epic series, the kind of epic that could rival any other epic out there in scope, magnitude, and complexity.”

Bookworm Blues

Storm and Steel (#2)
“A strong second entry and still a series to follow.”

Kirkus

“The vivid world of Erugash and its element-wielding magicians is further explored in this sequel to Blood and Iron […] [STORM AND STEEL] builds on a strong foundation.”

Library Journal

“Sprunk reveals his plot in a pleasing linear fashion that constantly entices forward motion — not so you can figure out what the heck is going on, but so you can find out what’s going to happen next! […] It is an immensely satisfying read.”

SFcrowsnest

“STORM AND STEEL is a lot of fun, and might not be a bad choice for someone looking for a high fantasy with intrigue and moral complexity. This book might be a good read for a fan of Roger Zelazny, George R.R. Martin, or anyone who likes the mystery of magic mixed with intrigue.”

SFRevu

“[BLOOD AND IRON] never failed to entertain, flashing glimmers of potential greatness. And in Storm and Steel, Jon Sprunk goes a long way in fulfilling that promise […] STORM AND STEEL is a great chance to experience a good, old-fashioned, sword and sorcery tour de force; one that perfectly mixes a sweeping fantasy world with non-stop action.”

Bookwraiths

Blade and Bone (#3)
“Recommended for fans of sword and sorcery in a unique setting with a truly diverse cast.”

SFcrowsnest

“An exhilarating extravaganza that is totally engrossing [...] BLADE AND BONE is a damn fine fantasy tale filled with terrifying events, a bit of gore, loads of action (both sword and sorcery), and characters which really hit their stride. And the ending . . . well, I’ll just say I can’t wait to see what Sprunk has in store for the next book.”

Book Wraiths

Shadow Saga

Shadow’s Son (#1)
“The intrigue, action scenes, and ever-more-revealing character insights are masterfully woven together in a book the reader won’t want to put down […] A first-rate sword-and-sorcery tale, with intriguing characters, that moves at a quick pace.”

Booklist

“[SHADOW’S SON] is filled with lots of action and suspense […] I highly look forward to the sequel and give this novel 5 stars as it deserves keeper status.”

Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick

“Sprunk hits on all four cylinders and convincingly draws the reader into his fantasy world […] delivers impeccably […] I will eagerly obtain SHADOW'S LURE to read more about Caim and his world.”

SF Signal

“SHADOW’S SON is a pleasure […] Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here.”

Mad Hatter

“Sprunk is able to write a full and satisfying story. The narrative speeds like a well-thrown knife and the writing is sharp and pointed. The characters are a nice mix of good and bad […] a cracking good read. This is the first book in a series and a mighty debut novel. If the pace continues through the next novels in the series, Sprunk will have laid the foundations to a soaring career.”

SFcrowsnest

“A fast, entertaining page-turner of a novel […] Ultimately, SHADOW’S SON is a surprisingly well-crafted piece of fiction for a debut novel, indicating Jon Sprunk is an author to watch in the future.”

Fantasy Literature

“The greatest asset of SHADOW’S SON is the sheer pace at which the story unfolds […] the plot is crafted well and enough hints are dropped throughout to keep the reader guessing.”

Speculative Horizons (UK)

Shadow’s Lure (#2)
“Brings together the dark plots and underpinnings of Sprunk’s fantasy world and expands on the nature of Caim’s ghostly companion, Kit […] both action and magic as well as a tale of unrequited love and unlikely heroes.”

Library Journal

“There’s a showdown a-brewing and I’m rubbing my hands in glee for it.”

Night Owl Reviews

“Cleverly written, the characters pop from the page and above all else it’s the sense of fun and pace that really makes this a story worth the time of any fantasy reader.”

Falcata Times

“Sprunk is a master storyteller. He wraps us in the folds of his tale. His prose sets the pages on fire, and it’s as if he’s unstoppable […] Those who like a dark fantasy will be surprised by his imagination and depth. The reader will be awake at night, reading this one to the very end!”

The Specusphere (Australia)

“Heart-pounding throttle-to-the-maximum action and adventure […] if you have any interest in sword and sorcery, you owe it to yourself to check out Sprunk’s work.”

SF Signal

“Sprunk’s clearly thought long and hard about the world setting for the novels, and brings plenty that’s fresh and new to the story. His secondary characters are well handled and he spares no-one from peril […] SHADOW’S LURE is a dark fantasy tale that quickly draws the reader into its web, and definitely leaves me eagerly awaiting the next in the saga.”

SciFi Pulse

“Escapist fantasy adventure at its finest.”

AudioFile

Shadow’s Master (#3)
“Sprunk continues to improve […] series fans will dive right in.”

Kirkus

“Old fashioned sword and sorcery in a noir fantasy that should appeal to fans of Michael Moorcock and Thieve’s World.”

Library Journal

“Sprunk finishes his series in strong fashion […] more interesting worldbuilding; further emergence of characters.”

SF Signal

“This one is darker, bloodier, and better than its predecessors […] Fans of action oriented sword and sorcery will find plenty to cheer about here.”

Adventures Fantastic

“For those who’ve been awaiting this final installment I can confidently say it’s a fitting end to Caim, Josey, and Kit’s stories. The novel is also a bit of a return capturing the kinetic violence and unrelenting pace of the first volume.”

Staffer’s Musings

“Sprunk delivers a powerful finale to the assassin-turned-freedom fighter Caim’s story […] throughout, Sprunk weaves a superb story, switching between storylines with aplomb.”

SciFi Pulse

“A good deal of action – and Sprunk does this part very well indeed. This is more sword and sorcery that most current fantasy fiction, not quite Fafhrd & the Gray Mouser but as good as we’re likely to get until the next Fritz Leiber shows up.”

Critical Mass

The Complete Shadow Saga
“Sprunk continues to improve […] series fans will dive right in.”

Kirkus

“Old fashioned sword and sorcery in a noir fantasy that should appeal to fans of Michael Moorcock and Thieve’s World.”

Library Journal

“[SHADOW’S SON] is filled with lots of action and suspense […] I highly look forward to the sequel and give this novel 5 stars as it deserves keeper status.”

Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick

“A pleasure […] Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here.”

Mad Hatter

“Cleverly written, the characters pop from the page and above all else it’s the sense of fun and pace that really makes this a story worth the time of any fantasy reader.”

Falcata Times

“Heart-pounding throttle-to-the-maximum action and adventure […] if you have any interest in sword and sorcery, you owe it to yourself to check out Sprunk’s work.”

SF Signal