Who Do, Voodoo? (#1)

Next: Bruja Brouhaha

When Liz Cooper’s friend Robin Bloom finds an unusual tarot card tacked to her front door, Liz writes it off as a prank. Robin refuses to ignore the omen—her late husband drew the same card, the three of swords, in a reading the night before he was killed in a car accident. As more cards and darker threats appear, Liz realizes someone very dangerous is upping the ante.

Liz turns to her brother’s ex-college roommate, occult expert Nick Garfield. As Nick leads her into the voodoo community to locate the origin of the deck, she can’t ignore their attraction to each other. Then a woman is found murdered and Robin becomes the prime suspect. Determined to clear her friend, Liz joins forces with Nick to unravel otherworldly secrets and seek help from beyond—or risk being outwitted by a cunning killer…

Reviews

“The first in the Mind for Murder mystery series set in Los Angeles grabs your attention from the start with creepy tarot cards, voodoo priestesses and cursed spell books. A fresh and entertaining premise for a new series that is cleverly plotted and executed.”

RT Book Reviews

“Let Staab’s debut cast a spell over your readers with its spirited pace, likable heroine, and Los Angeles backdrop. This is light, romantic suspense […] Staab sets her fairly sophisticated blend of the occult in a flashy West Coast locale for great escape reading. Fans of Juliet Blackwell and Rebecca M. Hale will get a kick out of this one.”

Library Journal

“Brava! Staab delivers effortless chills that eerily wash over you. leaving you shivering in wicked delight awaiting the sophomore volume […] Staab is an exceptional storyteller.”

Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“Rochelle Staab has created an engaging cast of contemporary characters from voodoo princesses to observant gray panthers for WHO DO, VOODOO and hurled them into a nuanced plot that keeps the reader guessing to the end.”

Examiner.com

“Didn’t need my crystal ball to see into the future of this wonderful debut. A sexy, funny, and engaging whodunit set in Tinsel Town, WHO DO, VOODOO? is a winner.”

Lesley Kagen, NY Times bestselling author of Good Graces

Awards & Accolades

USA

Agatha Award Nominee: 2012 “Best First Novel”

USA

#5 debut Barnes & Noble Mass Market Mystery chart

USA

#13 debut Bookscan Mass Market Mystery chart

USA

Eureka! Nominee: 2012 “Best First Novel”