The Desert Spear (#2)

Previous: The Warded Man | Next: The Daylight War

The sun is setting on humanity. The night now belongs to voracious demons that prey upon a dwindling population forced to cower behind half-forgotten symbols of power. Legends tell of a Deliverer: a general who once bound all mankind into a single force that defeated the demons. But is the return of the Deliverer just another myth? Perhaps not.

Out of the desert rides Ahmann Jardir, who has forged the desert tribes into a demon-killing army. He has proclaimed himself Shar’Dama Ka, the Deliverer, and he carries ancient weapons—a spear and a crown—that give credence to his claim. But the Northerners claim their own Deliverer: the Warded Man, a dark, forbidding figure. Once, the Shar’Dama Ka and the Warded Man were friends. Now they are fierce adversaries. Yet as old allegiances are tested and fresh alliances forged, all are unaware of the appearance of a new breed of demon, more intelligent—and deadly—than any that have come before.

Reviews

“A gripping sequel […] emphasizes political and romantic intrigue without losing the urgency of the demon war.”

Booklist

“Extends the author’s panoramic vision […] Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”

Library Journal

“Sure to leave fans on tenterhooks waiting for the next installment.”

Publishers Weekly

“An earthy, entertaining and traditional epic fantasy.”

Sacramento Book Review

"Well-drawn characters, fascinating world-building, action and conflict make for an exciting page-turner.”

RT Book Reviews

“Peter V. Brett is one of my favorite new authors.”

Patrick Rothfuss, the New York Times bestselling author of THE NAME OF THE WIND

“If you liked the first book as much as I did, you’ll consider this one essential reading.”

Charlaine Harris, The New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse mysteries

Awards & Accolades

USA

#35 New York Times Bestseller

United Kingdom

#9 Sunday Times Bestseller

Germany

#35 Der Spiegel Bestseller

Taiwan

#3 Eslite Foreign Literature chart

USA

David Gemmell Legend Award Nominee

USA

Best of 2010 by Fantasy Faction, SFF World, Ranting Dragon, Fantasy Book Critic, Goodreads.com

Rights