The Bloodbound (#1)

Next: The Bloodforged

Of all those in the King of Alden’s retinue, the bloodbinders are the most prized. The magic they wield can forge invaluable weapons, ones that make soldiers like Lady Alix Black unerringly lethal. However, the bloodbinders’ powers can do so much more—and so much worse…

A cunning and impetuous scout, Alix only wishes to serve quietly on the edges of the action. But when the king is betrayed by his own brother and left to die at the hands of attacking Oridian forces, she winds up single-handedly saving her sovereign.

Suddenly, she is head of the king’s personal guard, an honor made all the more dubious by the king’s exile from his own court. Surrounded by enemies, Alix must help him reclaim his crown, all the while attempting to repel the relentless tide of invaders led by the Priest, most feared of Oridia’s lords.

But while Alix’s king commands her duty, both he and a fellow scout lay claim to her heart. And when the time comes, she may need to choose between the two men who need her most…

Reviews

“Sturdy characterizations and intriguing magic anchor this solid series launch, the first fantasy novel for Lindsey […] [by the end,] Lindsey’s mostly balanced mix of romance and heroic fantasy will have captured readers’ hearts.”

Publishers Weekly

“The appealing characters of Alix and her suitors make both aspects of this series debut work.”

Library Journal

“Fast paced [and] entertaining.”

RT Book Reviews

“Palace intrigue, military strategy, and plenty of sword-fighting keep the storyline interesting and exciting […] Loyalty and duty is woven throughout THE BLOODBOUND, and I am looking forward to seeing what is in store for Alix in the next book.“

Bitten by Books

“This exciting and enthralling tale provides a delicious adventure that centers around a strong, opinionated female, and a war-torn land that features both mystical and pragmatic elements […] those who enjoy tales of bravery and loyalty mixed with a little chaos and magic will be delighted to find a fun and exciting adventure to read.”

Night Owl Reviews

“THE BLOODBOUND is an epic high fantasy with a captivating world, interesting characters, and non-stop action. The plot had some interesting twists and was full of great suspense that keeps you interested throughout the whole story […] This was a terrific high fantasy and I would highly recommend it to all fans of the genre.”

Dark Faerie Tales

“Full of witty banter, immensely likable characters, and swoons aplenty, THE BLOODBOUND by Erin Lindsey is not to be missed. There’s something for fans of both Romance and Fantasy, and I can’t wait to see what Lindsey has for us next.”

Rabid Reads

"THE BLOODBOUND is the gastropub of high fantasy…[It is] – in its own right, a blast: a fun, fast, invigorating and inspiring book, packed to the gills with tension, heroics, twists and adventure. And, more than that, it is also a symbol of something more: an epic fantasy with all the scale and excitement readers demand, but infused with a casual modernity."

Pornokitsch

“THE BLOODBOUND offers romance, intrigue, and a fast moving plot that will immerse readers in this new world […] Blending all the hallmarks of sword and sorcery with the modern, romantic feel of urban fantasy, THE BLOODBOUND is an effortless adventure that will sweep readers away.”

All Things Urban Fantasy

“There was so much that I loved about THE BLOODBOUND. The military strategy, fierce battles, glory and heartbreak of war, and the strong, capable female protagonist in a traditionally male role all made this a win for me […] THE BLOODBOUND has been one of my favorite stories so far this year. The characters were well crafted and the relationships were complex. It was intense, perfectly paced, and the gripping first chapter had me hooked. I’m anxiously awaiting details for the sequel. Highly recommended.”

Addicted 2 Heroines

“THE BLOODBOUND was a satisfying read and one you can quickly devour […] I highly recommend fantasy lovers giving it a try.”

Not Yet Read

“[An] adventure story of kingly betrayal and intrigue, [with] a nicely executed romance to complicate matters […] a strong novel that will remind readers of Elizabeth Moon’s The Deeds of Paksinarrion with its simple, but elegant story telling.”

Staffers Book Review

“All in all, we enjoyed THE BLOODBOUND, and this new fantasy world. It was a wonderful change of pace in what we had been reading and look forward to more in this world. If you enjoy fantasy, a novel well balanced between the romance and the action/adventure of war, then you might just want to jump into this new world.”

That’s What I’m Talking About

“A great epic fantasy novel with a strong yet flawed heroine and equally strong and flawed main characters. The dynamics between them were complicated and yet fit together nicely […] I really hope Lindsey continues to write in this world because I can’t wait to revisit it.”

The Book Pushers

“Lindsey does a fine job of building tension as in the narrative and while I was hooked into the novel early on, I felt much more invested and glued to the page as the novel progressed. I genuinely liked the characters and want to read more about them. In a genre landscape where darkness in characters and grimdark tone seem to be rather prevalent, THE BLOODBOUND was a refreshing change from that.”

SFFWorld

“THE BLOODBOUND is a terrific fantasy romance featuring a sword wielding heroine that puts some delightful kick-as time in. Mixed with brutal warfare and political intrigue, Erin Lindsey writes threads of romance that run equally throughout the story, keeping the romance lover in me as happy as the fantasy fan […] THE BLOODBOUND is a great choice for readers looking for a well-done fantasy romance with a strong warrior heroine, plenty of action, plotting, battles and simmering romance.”

Book Swoon

“Lindsey surprised me and surpassed my expectations […] I liked the blended composition of the book. I love fantasy and I love romance and I think that readers who love both will really embrace this novel.”

Debbie’s Book Bag

“You will be rewarded with a pretty fantastic romance (thank you for the closure!), awesome battles on the field, and crazy family drama.“

My Parahangover

“THE BLOODBOUND has enough unique twists and turns to make it a solid tale in its own right. I recommend this one for readers who enjoy the development of complex characters […] as appealing to fans of Mercedes Lackey, and I can definitely see the similarities. Alix is on par with Valdemar’s Talia or Elspeth, growing into a command role and maturing as a person in the process. She’s one of the more realistic heroines that I’ve seen recently.”

Owlcat Mountain Review

“I definitely recommend this book to both male and female lovers of fantasy fiction. In fact, whether or not you have read fantasy fiction in the past or not, this is a terrific series to start with. ”

Amie’s Book Reviews

“I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Erin Lindsey did a great job world building [...] I had a hard time putting this book down. I was always wondering what was going to happen next [...] The next book in this series is already out thankfully so I didn’t have to wait long!”

Motorcycles, Books & Colitis

“Strong romantic elements and a dash of humor enliven Erin Lindsey’s fantasy debut set in a kingdom besieged by dark forces and torn apart by betrayal.”

Tenacious Reader

“The various dramatic threads, like the war and the sacrifices it requires, are offset by sparks of humor that dovetail seamlessly into the most serious events, balancing the overall effect in a very pleasing way.”

Space and Sorcery

“Strong romantic elements and a dash of humor enliven Erin Lindsey’s fantasy debut set in a kingdom besieged by dark forces and torn apart by betrayal.”

Jacqueline Carey, The New York Times bestselling author of Poison Fruit

“Lindsey puts the hero back into heroic fantasy with action and intrigue and flawed but likable characters who, in complex political/personal situations, make hard decisions and stand by them.”

Tanya Huff, national bestselling author of The Future Falls

Rights