Stark’s War (#1)

This title was initially published under John Hemry.

Next: Stark’s Command

The Americans were the first to set foot on the moon. They intend to be the last.

The United States of America reigns over Earth as the last surviving superpower. To build a society free of American influence, foreign countries have inhabited the Moon, taking advantage of the natural resources to earn their own riches. Now the U.S. military has been ordered to wrest control of Earth’s satellite from America’s rivals.

Sergeant Ethan Stark must train his squadron to fight against a desperate enemy in an airless atmosphere at one-sixth normal gravity. Ensuring his team’s survival means choosing which orders to obey—and which to ignore…

Reviews

“I was quite impressed and pleased.”

Science Fiction Chronicle

“Solidly written, action-packed mil-SF. The action scenes are very well done, the main characters fairly straightforward, the motivations for the characters clear. A good page-turner that will amply satisfy fans of this sub-genre.”

SFFWorld

“A gripping tale of military science fiction, in the tradition of Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Haldeman’s Forever War. It serves as both a cautionary fable and a science fiction adventure, doing dual purpose and succeeding on both levels […] The characterization is right on […] the plot is sharp and crisp […] a worthy debut from Hemry, and it has the potential to join the pantheon of classic military sf stories if it gets the attention it deserves. Give this one a try.”

Absolute Magnitude

“When it comes to combat, Hemry delivers.”

William C. Dietz, New York Times bestselling author

“Gripping. Sgt. Stark is an unforgettable character […] STARK’S WAR reads as if Hemry has been there.”

Jack McDevitt, winner of the Robert A. Heinlen Award

“A rip roaring race through tomorrow’s battlefield, where knowledge is power, but stupidity still reigns. Hemry’s debut is a great yarn—and a thoughtful cautionary tale.”

Mike Shepherd, author of the Kris Longknife series

Awards & Accolades

Rights