Shadow’s Son (#1)

Next: Shadow’s Lure

In the city of Othir, there are two kinds of people—the dead and those ones who made them that way.

Caim is certainly not dead. Orphaned and adrift, Caim grows up to become a cold-blooded assassin with the aid of his ethereal companion Kit—a useful-but-maddening spirit only he can see or hear. And as far as Caim is concerned, he doesn’t need anyone else getting that close to him.

But that changes when he’s betrayed on what should have been a simple job—and his only chance for survival lies with Josephine, the young daughter of the very nobleman he was hired to eliminate.

Soon Caim is caught in a wide-ranging conspiracy that stretches from Othir’s gilded halls of power to its bloodied alleyways. He must stay sharp if he is to uncover a cabal of traitors, keep Josey alive, and confront the forgotten truth of his own dark past…

Reviews

“The intrigue, action scenes, and ever-more-revealing character insights are masterfully woven together in a book the reader won’t want to put down […] A first-rate sword-and-sorcery tale, with intriguing characters, that moves at a quick pace.”

Booklist

“[SHADOW’S SON] is filled with lots of action and suspense […] I highly look forward to the sequel and give this novel 5 stars as it deserves keeper status.”

Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick

“Sprunk hits on all four cylinders and convincingly draws the reader into his fantasy world […] delivers impeccably […] I will eagerly obtain SHADOW'S LURE to read more about Caim and his world.”

SF Signal

“SHADOW’S SON is a pleasure […] Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here.”

Mad Hatter

“Sprunk is able to write a full and satisfying story. The narrative speeds like a well-thrown knife and the writing is sharp and pointed. The characters are a nice mix of good and bad […] a cracking good read. This is the first book in a series and a mighty debut novel. If the pace continues through the next novels in the series, Sprunk will have laid the foundations to a soaring career.”

SFcrowsnest

“The action scenes are solid and the story is fast-paced with no moments threatening to slow things down […] The core of SHADOW’S SON feels solid, with characters who come into their stride, uncover past misdeeds and suprise themselves with what they’re able to accomplish.”

Examiner.com

“The pace is great, the story fun and engaging, and the characters are interesting. This is a solid fantasy debut that grabs you from page one and refuses to let you go […] Highly recommended.”

Civilian Reader (UK)

“A fast, entertaining page-turner of a novel […] Ultimately, SHADOW’S SON is a surprisingly well-crafted piece of fiction for a debut novel, indicating Jon Sprunk is an author to watch in the future.”

Fantasy Literature

“[A] hell of a damn good read […] I would recommend this to anyone who likes David Gemmell’s work and is looking for a really fun reading experience.”

Fantasy Book Review

“Jon Sprunk shows that not all fantasy novels need to be doorstoppers to be good. SHADOW’S SON is easily one of my favorite books of 2010.”

Fantasy Book Critic (Cindy Hannikman)

“I read it non-stop in one sitting […] SHADOW’S SON is written so well that nothing else really mattered for me.”

Fantasy Book Critic (Liviu Suciu)

“A well-written tale, which masterfully interweaves intrigue, action, magic, and interesting characters as it propels itself forward through a fully realized sword-and-sorcery world at a breakneck pace […] [If] you’re looking for a fun read, then you should definitely pick up Shadow’s Son […] I personally found Shadow’s Son difficult to put down, devouring it as quickly as I could find time to read it, and I’d encourage others to pick this one up and try it as well. I really think you will be happy that you did.”

Bookwraiths

“The greatest asset of SHADOW’S SON is the sheer pace at which the story unfolds […] the plot is crafted well and enough hints are dropped throughout to keep the reader guessing.”

Speculative Horizons (UK)

“One heck of a ride […] SHADOW’S SON is a well-written book with some great characters and set in medieval territory with dark magic. What’s not to love?”

Only the Best Science Fiction & Fantasy (UK)

“Caim and his partners are the best. It’s a dark fantasy with a great story, and it’s full of action. The twists and the action will keep you glued to the story, and you will become invested with this rich group of characters.”

The Ranting Dragon

“The closest thing fantasy gets to the perfect beach book — a fun, fast read in the fashion of dark fantasy that’s so popular these days.”

Neth Space

“Brisk pacing combines with liberal swordplay, politics, dark plots and mischievous spirits to make for an entertaining tale that promises good things to come.”

Monsters and Critics

“When Sprunk gets going, he writes with an energy that has to be experienced to be believed […] SHADOW’S SON is a thoroughly entertaining read.”

Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review

“You can just curl up with SHADOW’S SON and be entertained. Nothing showy, nothing flashy, just good, solid storytelling […] I loved it, and am eagerly anticipating the sequel.”

Grasping for the Wind

“A great story of love, death, and magic […] Jon Sprunk is now on my must-read list. Great debut novel.”

Speculative Book Review

“SHADOW’S SON makes for the perfect read when you’re in search of a quick burst of fun-filled action.”

LEC Book Reviews

“We have heard a few people compare this to the Brent Weeks novels. We are here to say, with emphasis, we strongly prefer this. SHADOW’S SON is what we are looking for when we read about assassins […] We’ll read his stuff readily, every time. So should you.”

Elitist Book Reviews

“Well, at first I thought I was in for a fairly typical thief/assassin tale, but with Kit’s accompanying sarcasm, Caim’s struggles to control his demonic powers, and suitably sinister over-arching political plots, this book really built into something which I found myself finding time to get back to listening to […] Thumbs up. ”

Audible SF/F

“Non-stop action […] of the type that makes you devour every page until you reach the inevitable convergence. [… An] engaging and light read, and one that leaves you wanting more.”

Roland’s Codex

“Though we often seem trained to expect a book that is physically light to be similarly lightweight in content, SHADOW’S SON manages to be simultaneously spry, dark, and complex […] There aren’t many authors being published today who can do so much with such a small amount of paper and ink.”

Rob Will Review

The quality of the narrative’s execution turns SHADOW’S SON into a very entertaining read […] if you are looking for an action packed and entertaining fantasy read, then this just might be what the doctor ordered.”

Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist

“Sprunk has written a charming and engaging first novel that leaves plenty to look forward to.”

Total Sci Fi Online

“The conspiracy is gripping […] Caim is an engaging chap […] and he’s what keeps you reading.”

SFX (UK)

“Reminded me of the golden age of pulp fantasy. Of a return to the simpler style of fantasy. Brilliant stuff.”

Lateral Books

“If you’re looking for a fast, frenetic fantasy with compelling characters and plenty of action, look no further. SHADOW’S SON hits the spot.”

Sci-Fi London

“Brilliant stuff — Now gimme the sequel!”

Latent Books

” SHADOW’S SON is an excellent debut novel that avoids many of the debut pitfalls […] providing a great base for Sprunk to grow.”

Staffer’s Book Review

“An exciting, interesting read and a good story that’s hard to put down.”

M/C Reviews

“With its vivid action and deft characterization SHADOW’S SON is novel I highly recommend to anyone lucking for quick and entertaining read.”

King of the Nerds

“Sprunk’s book could be read by young adults but is entertaining for older adults […] This is a short but fast-moving novel with heartbreak and redemption both.”

Charlaine Harris, NYT bestselling author

“Jon Sprunk mixes the rich details of his fantasy world with compelling characters and a fast-paced plot — a masterful and addicting debut novel.”

Maria V. Snyder, NYT bestselling author

“Fans of Joe Abercrombie, Scott Lynch, and Paul Kemp will definitely want to read this new dark fantasy adventure.”

Elaine Cunningham, NYT bestselling author

Awards & Accolades

USA

Compton Crook Award Finalist

USA

Fantasy Book Critic: #2 Debut Fantasy for 2010

Rights