Mistborn: The Final Empire (#1)

Next: Mistborn: The Well of Ascension

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.

Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

This saga dares to ask a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails?

Reviews

“Sanderson is not only one of the best writers in the business, he’s also one of the most prolific, churning out top-notch books year-over-year for both adult and young adult readers […] To say I was pleasantly surprised would be to understate my enjoyment of the books. This is easily one of the finest fantasy stories I’ve ever read, and my only regret is that I read it so quickly.”

Forbes Magazine

“Brandon Sanderson has come up with his own neat idea […] He has created a fascinating world here, one that deserves a sequel.”

Washington Post Book World

“Complicated and yet fast-paced and entertaining, with likably human protagonists and a large-scale cast of colorful characters, this trilogy introduced Sanderson as an important new voice in epic fantasy.”

Library Journal

“An amazing piece of fantasy literature […] brilliant […] unforgettable […] I would highline recommend this series to anyone who considers themselves a fan of the genre.”

SF Site

“Eerie […] fast-paced.”

Publishers Weekly

“The characters in this book are amazingly believable. Vin is an eminently sympathetic protagonist whose development over the course of the book is beautifully and realistically delineated. The system of magic is exceedingly clever and well integrated into this complex and plausible world that Vin and Kelsier inhabit […] While this is the first in a series, it’s an exceedingly satisfying book on its own, and fans of the genre should waste no time picking it up.”

RT Book Reviews

“Intrigue, politics, and conspiracies mesh complexity in a world Sanderson realizes in satisfying depth and people with impressive characters.”

Booklist

“Brandon Sanderson has done something rare here–written a sharply original fantasy that stands on its own as a single book while teasing the reader into a sense of impatience for the sequel. Strongly recommended. A good balance of good, evil, action, drama, politics, scheming, backstabbing, mystery–you name it, Mistborn has it all!”

Fantasy Literature

“Author of the critically acclaimed instant fantasy classic Elantris (2005), Brandon Sanderson returns with the first novel of his new Mistborn S=series. Staunch fans of Elantris no longer have to defend their new favorite fantasy author; with a riveting opener to an intriguing new series Sanderson is here to stay. Be sure to check this book out.”

Cinescape Magazine

“Mistborn is a[n] […] enjoyable, adventurous read […] should satisfy.”

Locus

“Sanderson does an excellent job of laying the ground work, of establishing both the world and the characters and in developing the major plot lines to be explored. While it’s hard to judge a trilogy based only on the first book, this first book holds a lot of promise. Definitely worth a read.”

SFRevu

“A surprisingly satisfying, single volume epic fantasy that invokes a complex, vibrant world, and in quick-moving, suspenseful, stunning story for fantasy readers and the world of fiction.”

Curled up with a Good Book

“Sanderson populated this fantastical, red-skied, ash-falling, mist-rising world with believable characters in a fascinatingly detailed world. I liked the novel a great deal, and my enjoyment truly progressed with each page. By novel’s end, I felt fully entrenched. I felt very much in tune with the characters and am glad I have the second book by my side to start reading. Readers who enjoy Greg Keyes, Robin Hobb and Gary Wassner would enjoy Mistborn.”

SFFWorld

“Exceptionally well-written […] smart, witty and emotional.”

SFcrowsnest

“One of the most stunning entrances to a series I have had the pleasure of reading. If you want to read one of the best fantasy books published in the last decade, then this definitely has to go at the top of your list. A must have for any reader of good fantasy. 9.8 out of 10.”

Fantasy Book Review (Joshua S. Hill)

“A highly compelling read and has the right blend of characters and suspense to ensure the reader will be eager to seek out the following book in the trilogy. 9.1 out of 10.”

Fantasy Book Review (Allan Fisher)

“One of the best fantasy series in recent years — great characters and one of the best magic systems ever.”

Fantasy Literature

“He couples raw talent and gifted story-telling with bizarre magics, extreme world building, and incredible creative vision.”

The Inquisitive Loon

“In exploring a shocking question—What happens if the hero fails and the villain reigns?—Brandon Sanderson kicks off a thrilling fantasy saga with MISTBORN: THE FINAL EMPIRE. It boasts all of the best fantasy elements: a unique magic system, a ragtag group of rebels led by a charismatic rogue, an orphan with mysterious powers. But Sanderson weaves those predictable elements into a breathtaking saga that promises twists every step of the way. MISTBORN succeeds in celebrating what makes fantasy magical while simultaneously delivering a fresh adventure that’s endlessly entertaining.”

Paste Magazine (Frannie Jackson)

“Mistborn utilizes a well thought out system of magic. It also has a great cast of believable characters, a plausible world, an intriguing political system, and despite being the first book in THE FINAL EMPIRE, a very satisfying ending. In short, it’s one of those great kettle books, in which the author has thrown not merely a bone of an idea and a few potatoes of originality, but half a cow and everything in the garden. And then added seasonings. Highly recommended to anyone hungry for a good read.”

Robin Hobb

Awards & Accolades

USA

Romantic Times Award Finalist: “Best Epic Fantasy”

USA

The Founding Fields: “Top 25 Series”

USA

Unbound Worlds: “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time”

USA

SF Book Club selection

Rights