Invincible (#2)

Previous: Dreadnaught | Next: Guardian

Admiral John “Black Jack” Geary was revived from cryogenic sleep to lead the Alliance against the Syndicate Worlds. But his superiors question his loyalty to the regime. Now in command of the First Fleet, he is tasked with exploring the frontier beyond Syndic space, a mission he fears deliberately puts the fleet—and himself—in harm’s way…

An encounter with the alien enigmas confirms Geary’s fears. Attacked without warning, he orders the fleet to jump star systems—only to enter the crosshairs of another hostile alien armada. Ignoring the First Fleet’s peaceful communications, this species sends its ships into battle while it guards the exiting jump point with a fortress of incalculable power. Now Geary must find a way to reach the jump point without massive casualties—even though the enigmas could be waiting on the other side…

Reviews

“Absorbing […] neither series addicts nor newcomers will be disappointed.”

Kirkus

“Will appeal to fans of David Drake and Gordon R. Dickson.”

RT Book Reviews

“A very gripping read […] Is it possible for such a well-established series to surprise readers and shuffle its well-established status quo? Campbell answers that question with a resounding yes in INVINCIBLE.”

SFFWorld

“Stoic heroes, large-scale space battles, and constantly-increasing stakes […] INVINCIBLE is a worthy installment of the Lost Fleet series, and sure to satisfy fans.”

SF Site

Awards & Accolades

USA

Rob Bedford: 2012 “Favorite Science Fiction Novel”

Rights