Firefight (#2)

Previous: Mitosis | Next: Calamity

Newcago is free.
   They told David it was impossible, that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet Steelheart—invincible, immortal, unconquerable—is dead. And he died by David’s hand.
   Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life simpler. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And no one in Newcago can give him answers.
   Babylon Restored, the city formerly known as the borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic Regalia, Babylon Restored is flooded and miserable, but David is sure it’s the path that will lead him to what he needs to find. Entering a city oppressed by a High Epic despot is risky, but David’s willing to take the gamble. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic–Firefight. And now he will go on a quest darker and even more dangerous than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.

Reviews

“Big in size and vision, this is the rare middle volume that keeps the throttle open and actually moves the story along significantly.”

Kirkus

“FIREFIGHT is a non stop action packed wet and wild rollercoaster ride that you don’t want to miss out on. Though this is marketed as a young adult book I know that the majority if not every adult reader who reads the Reckoners books will enjoy them just as well. Brandon Sanderson is a master storyteller and his books should be made compulsory reading material.”

Book Plank, “Best Young Adult Novels of 2015”

“Compelling […] Much like in STEELHEART, Sanderson uses plot twists that he teases enough for readers to pick up on to distract from the more dramatic reveals he has in store. While Sanderson devoted his first Reckoners book to bringing readers into the world, FIREFIGHT digs deeper into its mythology—beginning to answer the questions of where the Epics come from and what makes them so terrible.“

A.V. Club

“This is a fun, action-packed novel, especially if one enjoys superhuman abilities as much as Sanderson does […] Sanderson has interesting things to say about the superhero genre, and his imagination is vivid. Babliar is a fun setting, and in general the book operates quite well. A fun, exciting superpower romp.”

Fantasy Literature

“Reckoners series has a compelling hook…[FIREFIGHT is] another brisk YA fantasy from Sanderson – inventive, action-stuffed and surprising until the end.”

SFX

“FIREFIGHT is another winner from Brandon Sanderson […] There are even more twists and turns here than in STEELHEART […] I loved the unpredictability of the plot, since it’s so rare that a Young Adult novel can capture my attention and keep me in suspense from beginning to end […] I for one would recommend this to young adult and adult readers alike. Seriously worth your time.”

Bibliosanctum, 5/5 stars

“For fans of Steelheart, FIREFIGHT is an epic sequel.”

Deseret News

“This intense sequel builds on the strengths of the initial volume, adding nuance and complexity alongside the action and intrigue. The imaginative recasting of superpowers as a corruptive force remains key, but the narrative broadens out the Epic lore […] A startling twist near the end puts the future of both Epics and Reckoners in question and will have readers counting the days to the final volume.”

The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (Univ. of Illinois)

“I enjoyed this sequel even more than the first. With creative and complex characters and backstories, an unpredictable and twisted plot, and plenty of action – this book is hard to put down. I highly recommend this fantastic series to fans of superheroes (and villains). It’s a captivating and inspired series of which I can’t get enough.”

SciFi Chick

“As a YA book it succeeds very well. FIREFIGHT touches upon multiple themes, and as always, Brandon Sanderson creates a unique and interesting universe we get to explore alongside the protagonist […] Firefight is a great YA book, almost as good as Steelheart, and a fun, action packed ride for those of us who remain a child at heart.”

Best Fantasy Books

“This series is getting better and better with each book, and I’m fighting the urge to re-listen to each just so I can relive all of the awesome […] FIREFIGHT’s plot was rich with character development, entertainment dialogue, and lots of action and suspense.”

No BS Reviews

“I wasn’t really surprised at how good Brandon Sanderson’s FIREFIGHT was — the man is a writing machine. I don’t think it is possible for him to write a bad book, in fact I would be shocked to find a book of his I did not enjoy […] I think anyone who is a fan of Brandon Sanderson, urban fantasy, or superhero fiction would enjoy this story.”

The Arched Doorway

“Here’s what you can expect in the second book in Sanderson’s Reckoners trilogy: A new city. Entertainment. Goofiness. Laughs. Almost unbearable tension. Hurt. Betrayals. So many tears. Frustation. Elation. Hope. ALL the feels […] Sanderson has done it again and we’ve expected no less. While it didn’t surpass its predecessor (because seriously, Steelheart was almost perfect), FIREFIGHT was just as good, just as exciting, just as funny, just as well written.”

The Nocturnal Library

“One of the greatest things about this series is its premice, which is EPIC […] I shouldn’t even have to tell you to read this series because Brandon Sanderson’s reputation proceeds him. But if you do need a little nudge, I am really loving it and hightly recommend it.”

The Quiet Concert

“In my opinion Brandon Sanderson is one of the best fantasy writers of this generation […] [He] manages to write incredibly compelling books that manage to suck the reader in immediately, refusing to let them go until the very last page, whereupon it leaves an after shadow of curiosity gnawing upon their consciousness, wondering what will happen next to the characters, and constantly revisiting their favorite scenes. Taking all of that in, Firefight is no exception.”

Whatchamacallit Reviews

“Firefight is a truly fabulous sequel to a fantastic dystopian series with an engrossing and creative world, complex and likable characters, and action-packed plot full of surprises.”

My Thoughts…Literally

“It’s filled with action, humor, and a seemingly doomed romance. And, awkward as his comparisons are, David is a wonderfully engaging hero, his innate optimism casting light in very dark places. The ending of this second episode leaves readers with some very big questions – I for one can’t wait for the answers.”

BookLoons

Awards & Accolades

USA

#9 USA Today Bestseller List

USA

#3 Bookscan Juvenile Bestseller List

USA

#10 Children’s Fiction Series Indie Bestseller List

USA

Book Plank: “Best Young Adult Novel of 2015”

USA

The Quill To Live: “Best of 2015”

USA

ScifiChick: “Best of 2015”

Israel

Geffen Award Finalist: “Best YA novel of the year”

Rights